Chris qualified from Guys in 1965 and came to Bristol via the Royal Dental Hospital in 1971.There with Tim Bass he devised the first 3 year orthodontic undergraduate course which allowed Bristol students to treat their own patients from diagnosis to completion and then present the results as part of their Finals. In the course of the next 30 years he attracted £600,000 in research grants, produced 113 papers in refereed journals and 43 other papers as well as contributing to 6 textbooks. During his time at Bristol he was gratified to see the School’s Higher Education Funding Council’s research grading rise from 2 to 5*. While at Bristol Chris has served on the Board of Faculty of the Royal College of Surgeons of England, the Dental Committee of the Medical Defence Union, the Editorial Board of Dental Update and Department of Health’s Standing Dental Advisory Committee. He received his OBE in 1999 for services in the application of computers to dentistry and dental education.

On his retirement in 2002 Chris was made an Honorary Life Member of both the European and British Orthodontic Societies and still serves on the BOS Museum and Archive Committee. In 2004 he was elected Fellow of the British Dental Association. Looking back on his time at Bristol he is particular proud to note that three of his former students now hold chairs in orthodontics or paediatric dentistry, three have been Chief Dental Officers of England and elsewhere and many more are leading consultants and specialists in orthodontics and paediatric dentistry.

Since retirement Chris has authored three books on local history including the History of the Bristol Dental School (currently given to students at the beginning of their clinical course) and several papers for the Dental Historian. He continues to work for the Woodland Trust and he is a Volunteer Warden of Bishop’s Knoll Wood which received the Trust’s Willow award in 2017. A qualified dry stone-waller he is currently Vice President of the Dry Stone Walling Association of Great Britain and Life President of its SW England Branch that he founded in 2006.